The Canterbury Kings led by Andrew Ellis. Image:

McDonald's Super Smash ready to launch

A brand new season of New Zealand's entertaining Twenty20 showcase begins tomorrow in New Plymouth, Auckland and Hamilton.

Full schedule

McDonald’s Super Smash — Round One, Sunday 4 December 2016

The Stags host the Kings from 2pm

Central Stags: Will Young (c), Doug Bracewell, Tom Bruce, Josh Clarkson, Dane Cleaver (w), Marty Kain, Ryan McCone, Ben Smith, Blair Tickner, Seth Rance, Ben Wheeler, George Worker

Canterbury Kings: Andrew Ellis (c), Jeremy Benton, Chad Bowes, Cameron Fletcher (w), Peter Fulton, Ben Hilfenhaus, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Johnston, Ken McClure, Cole McConchie, Ed Nuttall, Logan van Beek

Coming into the Stags’ squad for the first time this season are George Worker, recovered from injury, and Josh Clarkson in line for his first game this season. Missing through injury are Jesse Ryder, Andrew Mathieson, Ross Taylor and Adam Milne
Former Australia right-arm swing bowler Ben Hilfenhaus bolsters the Kings’ pace stocks for the first half of the McDonald’s Super Smash competition. Hilfenhaus debuted for the Kings on Friday when they defeated defending Australian Big Bash champions Sydney Thunder by 20 runs in a warmup T20 at Hagley Oval.

The Aces host the Volts from 2.10pm

Auckland Aces: Rob Nicol (c), Michael Barry, Mark Chapman, Donovan Grobbelaar, Michael Guptill-Bunce, Ben Horne, Dane Hutchinson, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tymal Mills, Tarun Nethula, Glenn Phillips, Jeet Raval, Sean Solia

Otago Volts: Hamish Rutherford (c), Warren Barnes, Neil Broom, Michael Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Josh Finnie, Anaru Kitchen, Bradley Scott, Christi Viljoen, Neil Wagner, Brad Wilson

Anaru Kitchen returns to the Volts from injury. Warren Barnes and Bradley Scott appear in a Volts’ squad for the first time this season.
No fewer than seven players are in line to make their Aces T20 debuts: Ben Horne, Sean Solia, Michael Barry, former Firebird Dane Hutchinson, Glenn Phillips, Michael Guptill-Bunce, and English import Tymal Mills are all in the twelve, left-arm quick Mills fresh off a stint in the Bangladesh Premier League where he played for the Chittagong Vikings
The Auckland Aces are the defending champions

SEDDON PARK, HAMILTON #KnightsvFirebirds
The Knights host the Firebirds from 2pm

Knights: Dean Brownlie (c), Corey Anderson, Jono Boult, Joe Carter, Zak Gibson, Brett Hampton, Nick Kelly, Ben Laughlin, Daryl Mitchell, Nathan Reardon, Tim Seifert (w), Ish Sodhi

Wellington Firebirds: Hamish Marshall (c), Brent Arnel, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (w), Jade Dernbach, Stephen Murdoch, Michael Papps, Michael Pollard, Jeetan Patel, Luke Ronchi, Matt Taylor, Luke Woodcock

If selected in the Knights’ playing XI, Zak Gibson will make his T20 debut
If selected in the Knights’ playing XI, Australian left-hander Nathan Reardon will make his Knights debut. Reardon played two Twenty20 Internationals for Australia in 2014.
The Knights are missing the services of Anton Devcich, sidelined for the season with a ligament injury; Scott Kuggeleijn and Daniel Flynn also unavailable this round due to injury.
Hamish Marshall will make his Firebirds T20 captaincy debut on Firebirds T20 debut, against his former domestic team
England’s Jade Dernbach returns to the Firebirds after having played four games for the side last season

Official competition hashtag: #SuperSmash